Photo by Michael Loccisano/Getty Images

New Elton John Album ‘Wonderful Crazy Night’ Due Out February 5

Elton John has set a February 5 release date for Wonderful Crazy Night, his 33rd studio album, with the first single, "Looking Up," due out Friday (October 23).

John joined forces again with T-Bone Burnett to co-produce the set -- as they did with 2013's The Diving Board and 2011's The Union with Leon Russell -- which they recorded in Los Angeles. Standard editions of the album feature 10 songs, with two more tracks on the Deluxe Edition.

"Looking Up" is described as "the perfect trailer for what is sure to be hailed as another masterful entry into one of the most distinguished album catalogues in history. The song's upbeat rhythm and lyric are fueled by rock guitar and a killer piano motif that conjure echoes of some of Elton's best-loved hits. It also has all of the refreshing enthusiasm and spirit of creativity that go with him every time he steps foot in a studio."

John co-wrote all the songs for Wonderful Crazy Night with longtime lyricist Bernie Taupin, while regular band members Davey Johnstone, Nigel Olsson, Matt Bissonette, Kim Bullard and John Mahon play on it. Longtime John percussionist Ray Cooper appears on five tracks as well.

The full track list for Wonderful Crazy Night includes:

  1. Wonderful Crazy Night
  2. In The Name Of You
  3. Claw Hammer
  4. Blue Wonderful
  5. I've Got 2 Wings
  6. A Good Heart
  7. Looking Up
  8. Guilty Pleasure
  9. Tambourine
  10. The Open Chord
  11. Free And Easy *DELUXE VERSION ONLY
  12. England And America *DELUXE VERSION ONLY


Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.